I’ve Vanished

Over the past few weeks I’ve taken on more responsibilities, had some major projects going on at work and, last week, took a quickie vacation to Arizona to see extended family (more on that in a second). Hence, I haven’t been around. I’m working on writing more but definitely not gone for good!

The trip to Phoenix was very good. My mom, son and I hopped into my mom’s Ford F350 and drove both ways. Yes, it’s 107 degrees there but I kinda like the heat, even if I kept feeling drowsy at my grandma’s house. I’m already homesick for Arizona, even though I’ve never lived there. It was just so nice to be surrounded by people who love me and so good to see them all.

My grandma, who is 89, recently finished treatment for melanoma that had spread to her lungs. She did a round of experimental chemo which took a serious toll on her health and she stopped taking the pills a few weeks ago. Then, she had a PET scan which showed no signs of cancer at all. Unbelievable!

Unfortunately, almost the minute we got home, my other grandma (my dad’s mom) passed away. My dad hopped in his truck (he also drives a big honkin’ Ford) and headed to Texas for her funeral, which was yesterday. Say a quick prayer for my family, if you please.

My 8-year-old has a couple more weeks off before school begins again so I hope to spend some time – really spend some time – enjoying him before all the school year craziness resumes. Hopefully I won’t get so caught up in the whirlwind of activity this time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

