Eyes on the Road

I’ve been thinking about driving quite a bit lately. You see, last week, I paid off my car! About five years ago I had bought a brand-new, 2007 Saturn VUE hybrid. It’s a great car, and gets around 30mpg (not bad for an SUV). As of last Thursday, it’s all mine!

The act of actually making that final loan payment was made much more impressive considering the fact I have not actually done so since 1999. The last time I had paid off a vehicle that I owned, I had almost immediately totaled it. I was driving down a busy street, fantasizing about having a date with my then-boyfriend (now husband) that night, and not really paying attention.

I plowed right into the back of a rusty old El Camino, and the spectacle of my car scrunching into an accordion shape was made all the worse by the heckling I endured from the guys at the bar across the street, who guffawed “Woman driver!!”

When you stop and really think about it, driving is a lot like life. When you get behind the wheel of an automobile, you really need to keep your eyes focused on the road with glances in the rearview mirror every few seconds. The science behind this is solid. You really want to be aware of obstacles not only in front of you, but anything potentially coming up from behind or in your blind spot.

In life, this is true as well. Keep your attention focused of the things that are happening around you, and be present. Yet remain aware of any potential obstacles, and use your previously-gained knowledge (what’s behind you) to help you steer clear of “fender benders”.

Just as you’d never drive with your head turned over your shoulder, you shouldn’t – and can’t – live life clinging to the past.

I think this sums it up quite nicely.

This entry was posted in Just Rambling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

